Chekhov’s First Play

39 East Essex Street, Temple Bar, Dublin 2

Back To Events
Russian Revolution • Project Arts Centre • Dead Centre
Chekhov’s First Play

I’M HAVING ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH THE THEATRE OR THE HUMAN RACE.  THEY CAN ALL GO TO HELL. – Anton Chekhov

During the turmoil of the Russian Revolution in 1917, Maria Chekhov, Anton’s sister, placed many of her late brother’s papers in a safety deposit box in Moscow. In 1921 Soviet scholars opened the box, and discovered a play. The title page was missing. It had too many characters, too many themes, too much action. All in all, it is generally dismissed as unstageable. Like life.
 
In 2015, Dead Centre premiered Chekhov’s First Play. After huge critical and popular acclaim, the show travelled throughout the world, from Berlin, to Sarajevo, Hong Kong and Helsinki. It now returns for the first time to Dublin in a limited run of 5 performances.

Project Arts Centre
Event Venue
Project Arts Centre
Upcoming Events Happening in Dublin

FREE


Gallery of Photography
Thu 21st Apr - Sat 11th Jun

FREE


Online
Sun 1st May - Tue 31st May

FREE


Dublin
Sat 14th May - Sun 22nd May

€10.00 - €35.00


Dublin
Tue 17th May - Sun 29th May

€199.00


Croke Park
Wed 18th May

€198.00


Royal Dublin Society
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

€25.00 - €30.00


Mill Theatre
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

FREE


Merrion Square Park
Thu 19th May