Lucia: A Suite for Guitar and Strings

Axis Art Centre and Theatre, Main St, Ballymun, Dublin

Back To Events
Axis Ballymun • Lucia Joyc • Joe Chester
Lucia: A Suite for Guitar and Strings

Axis Ballymun is delighted to present the world premiere of ‘LUCIA’ – a suite for guitar and strings composed by multi-award nominated musician Joe Chester. This new composition will be brought to life by ‘The Sound of Bells’ a quartet featuring long-time collaborators Trevor Hutchinson, Vyvienne Long, Steve Wickham alongside Chester.

Lucia Joyce spent 47 years in institutions as a result of mental illness, including long periods in isolation. She died in the notoriously cruel St. Andrew’s asylum, Northampton at the age of 75. And yet, in her youth she had shown enormous potential, as a dancer and illustrator. Over the course of two years, Chester took ten key moments from the life of Lucia Joyce, ten facts of her existence, and composed a piece of music for each, to pay tribute to her, to bear witness to her and, in some fantastical, imaginary way, let her speak.

Upcoming Events Happening in Dublin

FREE


Gallery of Photography
Thu 21st Apr - Sat 11th Jun

FREE


Online
Sun 1st May - Tue 31st May

FREE


Dublin
Sat 14th May - Sun 22nd May

€10.00 - €35.00


Dublin
Tue 17th May - Sun 29th May

€199.00


Croke Park
Wed 18th May

€198.00


Royal Dublin Society
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

€25.00 - €30.00


Mill Theatre
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

FREE


Merrion Square Park
Thu 19th May