Schubert : WINTERREISE

7 Exchange Street Lower, Temple Bar, Dublin

Back To Events
Ben Johnson • Niall Kinsella • Franz Schubert
Schubert : WINTERREISE
  • Price: €15.00 - €20.00
  • Start date: This Event Has Ended.
  • Event Venue: Smock Alley Theatre

Irish Songmakers

Acclaimed British tenor Ben Johnson and Irish pianist Niall Kinsella perform Franz Schubert’s great song-cycle, Winterreise. One of the composer’s late works, composed in the final year of his life, Winterreise, or Winter Journey, has long captured the imaginations of audiences and performers alike. The cycle is an exploration of the human condition set over twenty-four scenes, which travel the inner journey of the soul, dealing with themes of loss, isolation, rejection, anger and unrequited love.

Johnson, elegant yet intense, is impeccable.”
– The Guardian on Ben Johnson

“Kinsella is a meticulous collaborator.”
– BBC Music Magazine on Niall Kinsella

TICKETS €20 | €16 (STUDENT/OAP)
EARLY BIRD OFFER OF €15 / 12 IF BOOKED BEFORE 31 DEC
RUNNING TIME: 75 MINS
Music: Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Text: Wilhelm Müller (1794-1827)

Ben Johnson, tenor
Niall Kinsella, piano

Smock Alley Theatre
Event Venue
Smock Alley Theatre
Upcoming Events Happening in Dublin

FREE


Gallery of Photography
Thu 21st Apr - Sat 11th Jun

FREE


Online
Sun 1st May - Tue 31st May

FREE


Dublin
Sat 14th May - Sun 22nd May

€10.00 - €35.00


Dublin
Tue 17th May - Sun 29th May

€199.00


Croke Park
Wed 18th May

€198.00


Royal Dublin Society
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

€25.00 - €30.00


Mill Theatre
Wed 18th May - Thu 19th May

FREE


Merrion Square Park
Thu 19th May