Talk & Tea: Hannah Tighe’s Sketchbook

Millennium Wing Studio, Merrion Square W, Dublin 2

Back To Events
National Gallery • Hannah Tighe • Talk And Tea
Talk & Tea: Hannah Tighe’s Sketchbook

Join us for an in-person talk about Hannah Tighe's sketchbook in the Gallery's permanent collection.

Curator of Prints and Drawings, Anne Hodge, will discuss this recently acquired sketchbook and draw connections between its creator and the exhibition Young Gainsborough: Rediscovered Landscape Drawings.

Like Thomas Gainsborough, Hannah Tighe (1800-1872) drew inspiration from her local environment. She lived with her family on the grand estate of Woodstock in Inistioge, Co. Kilkenny. Inspired by her teacher Maria Spilsbury Taylor, the teenage artist made detailed drawings of her locality and places she visited in Ireland and England.

Our Tuesday Talk and Tea series of talks involve short, illustrated talks about the collection or an exhibition, followed by a discussion with the audience over a cup of tea.

Email [email protected] with any queries.

Young Gainsborough: Rediscovered Landscape Drawings has been organised in collaboration with Royal Collection Trust, York Museums Trust, National Gallery of Ireland and Nottingham Castle.

Upcoming Events Happening in Dublin

€15.00 - €41.50


Gate Theatre
Fri 2nd Dec - Sat 28th Jan

€16.00 - €18.00


Dundrum Town Centre
Tue 6th Dec - Sun 29th Jan

€8.00 - €18.00


National Gallery of Ireland
Fri 9th Dec - Mon 6th Feb

FREE


Pallas Projects/Studios
Fri 9th Dec - Sat 28th Jan

€16.00 - €18.00


Axis Art Centre and Theatre
Thu 5th Jan - Sun 29th Jan

€35.00


Paintclub
Wed 25th Jan

FREE


Merrion Square Park
Thu 26th Jan

€23.00 - €25.00


Draíocht Blanchardstown
Thu 26th Jan - Fri 27th Jan