Villagers

Thomas Street, The Liberties, Dublin 8

Back To Events
Vicar Street • Villagers
Villagers
  • Price: €35.00
  • Start date: This Event Has Ended.
  • Event Venue: Vicar Street

Conor O'Brien recently announced Villagers' fifth studio album Fever Dreams will be released in late August. Escapism is a very necessary pursuit right now, and Fever Dreams follows it to mesmerising effect. It works like all the best records – it becomes a mode of transport; it picks you up from where you are and sets you down elsewhere.

Coinciding with the announcement, O’Brien has also shared the first song from the forthcoming album, “The First Day”. It was inspired by a trip to the fabled Another Love Story festival in County Meath – beginning as a snatched electronic doodle, it morphed into a widescreen, lushly cinematic evocation of the joy in human connection.

Written over the course of two years, the main bodies of the songs were recorded in a series of full-band studio sessions in late 2019 and early 2020. During the long, slow pandemic days, O’Brien refined them in his tiny home studio in Dublin, and the album was then mixed by David Wrench (Frank Ocean, The xx, FKA Twigs).

Alongside the album announcement, Villagers have confirmed a string of live dates across the UK and Ireland  including 3 nights at Vicar Street Dublin from 11th – 13th December.

Vicar Street
Event Venue
Vicar Street
Upcoming Events Happening in Dublin

FREE


Pallas Projects/Studios
Thu 22nd Sep - Sat 8th Oct

FREE


Dublin
Mon 26th Sep - Sun 16th Oct

€36.00


Vicar Street
Wed 28th Sep - Sat 15th Oct

€15.00 - €35.00


Dublin
Thu 29th Sep - Sun 16th Oct

€10.00 - €40.00


Royal Hospital Kilmainham
Fri 30th Sep - Sun 16th Oct

€25.00 - €80.00


Dublin
Tue 4th Oct - Fri 7th Oct

€150.00


National Gallery of Ireland
Tue 4th Oct - Tue 22nd Nov

FREE


Merrion Square Park
Thu 6th Oct